The Island of Dilmun

Image

The land Dilmun is a pure place, the land Dilmun is a clean place,

The land Dilmun is a clean place, the land Dilmun is a bright place;

He who is all alone laid himself down in Dilmun,

The place, after Enki had laid himself by his wife,

That place is clean, that place is bright;

He who is all alone laid himself down in Dilmun,

The place, after Enki had laid himself by Ninsikil,

That place is clean, that place is bright.

In Dilmun the raven uttered no cries,

The kite uttered not the cry of the kite,

The lion killed not,

The wolf snatched not the lamb,

Unknown was the kid-killing dog,

Unknown was the grain-devouring boar,

The bird on high . . . not its young,

The dove . . . not the head,

The sick-eyed says not “I am sick-eyed,”

The sick-headed says not “I am sick-headed,”

Its (Dilmun’s) old woman says not “I am an old woman,”

Its old man says not “I am an old man,”

Its unwashed maid is not . . . in the city,

He who crosses the river utters no . . . ,

The overseer does not . . . ,

The singer utters no wail,

By the side of the city he utters no lament.

Source Credit: http://www.sevenfoldtruth.com/dilmun/index.html

 

I know that Dilmun is a paradise. I have heard travelers passing through our island tell stories of how majestic it is. Most of them chose to stay, while others were forced to leave its abode. The elders cast them to the sea bound never to return. They were evil men that sought the treasure of the island. There is a treasure lying in the island. I don’t know where it is, but I am certain it is priceless because a celebration to remember its beauty and elegance are held in the island annually. I don’t know how it looked like, but I felt I saw something more precious than that in the island on the eve the terrible lightning struck one of the huts of the villages.

I was supposed to be inside, but I was staring the angry waves of the sea. I have never seen it roar in fury. The moon looked interestingly happy to see the ocean cry in turmoil as it offered it light. Suddenly, something from the ocean formed and twisted water emerged from the heart of it. It managed to waltz its way into the shore, as it touched the earth lightning struck and the whirling water was broken. I was in full shock to see it happening. Something was left on the shore.

I can hear the village wail in tears as someone had to bid goodbye to a family member. I was not interested with this kind of news. I wanted to see what the whirling water dropped. I was curious. I run towards the shore and I saw her.

 

Leave a Reply

